The Wandering Writer
Wandering Writer Podcast
But First, Florida
8
Preview
0:00
-2:39

But First, Florida

On Riding in the Wayback and Dreaming of Cocoa Beach (But also...last night was insane and p.s., the police dog's name was Zorro )
8

Although this started as an audio story, the most exciting part is in the text (trust me):

I am writing this on a plane. It has been a pretty bumpy ride for the past fifteen minutes. The pilot tells us it will calm down soon. I recorded the episode last night, but I haven’t listened to it before posting, because right after I finished recording, someone started pounding on our door, shouting, “Police! Open up!” and when I opened the door I realized our driveway was crawling with SWAT guys. A heavily armed man in uniform asked us if we’d seen anything, then told us to stay inside and keep the doors and windows locked.

This post is for paid subscribers

The Wandering Writer
Wandering Writer Podcast
Stories on writing at home and abroad, from New York Times bestselling author Michelle Richmond